Walking in the English Countryside

Stile at the end of the street

Stile at the end of the street

Thursday evening Paul pointed out a walk that starts literally at the end of the street.  It takes 2 hours to do the full loop; I went for about 45 minutes.  I had a huge smile the whole time – I WAS WALKING IN THE ENGLISH COUNTRYSIDE.  Mom, you’ll be proud of me, I didn’t actual shout that out, but I was sure thinking it!

So, the first picturesque site was the stile into the sheep pasture.

The Second Stile

The Second Stile

Now, I’m really wondering how I knew the word ‘stile.’  Was it from a nursey rhyme or a fairy tale?  I immediately knew what Paul was talking about when he said it and linked the word with visual when he pointed it out.  (I’ve been finding that sometimes I need to translate the language/accent before comprehending.)

IMG_0004

The white spot is actually a white pony…Welsh perhaps?

I love the sky in this one.

I love the sky in this one.

This picture reminds me of the old Pony Club manual – Keeping a Pony at Grass.

IMG_0009

A cob???

A cob???

He had a number branded on his back, under where a saddle would go.  Seemed odd to me.

Sigh…

Quintessential England

Quintessential England

A brick wall/fence.  This really made me think of fox hunting.

The initial inspiration for brick jumps in hunter classes.

The initial inspiration for brick jumps in hunter classes.

A gate covered in real, honest-to-goodness ivy.

IMG_0014

And then the mother-lode just before I turned around.

I haven't discovered who/what these belong to, but those are jumps!

I haven't discovered who/what these belong to, but those are jumps!

One thought on “Walking in the English Countryside

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

