My favourite kind of challenge

Her boobies are not really that big!

Her boobies are not really that big!

This fortnight’s challenge over at That Craft Place’s Challenge Blog is ‘Anything Goes.’

I wanted to do a ‘canvas’ type thing with these fab wings from Lisa’s.  First I painted them gold DecoArts paint.  Then I used their two step crackle and brown paint.  I coloured The Pilot from DDD with copics in brown and turquoise.  To help tie the wings and the image together I swiped turquoise paint across the wings and rubbed back with the crafter’s most useful tool…a baby wipe! (I alsow rubbed and swiped turquoise on the bottle cap) I also sponged gold paint onto the wood cogs.  I  played around with a number of embellishments from That Craft Place until I was happy with both the selection and placement, including the fabulous chain.

My second project are a set of altered wooden balls I picked up from the brilliant charity shop next to Lisa’s (another reason to visit ladies!).  I forgot to take a before picture, but here’s a during picture with a coat of gesso.

Before

Before

Even after two coats of gesso and the first coat of red paint you could see the black swirls.  I thought that this might be okay, but they did disappear after a few more layers.  I added some die cut flourishes (Cheery Lyn and Marianne) to for some dimension and then started to add red paint (True Red, Primary Red, Santa Red – spot a pattern?- and my new fav, Deep Burgundy) here and there making sure to not leave any white showing.  Once I was happy with how the reds looked, I added splashes of gold .  In one spot, I did a kind of zed shaped squiggle to hide an oops.  I prefered that look and will do that shape in the future.  I also did the whole swipe and rub back thing with black paint…especially around the flourishes.  Lastly, I covered it with Triple Thick Glaze which made them look like glass.  These £2 charity shop finds are now comfortable on my mantle!

charity shop makeover

What has been your best charity shop find?

Links you need:

That Craft Place

That Craft Place Facebook Group

That Craft Place Challenge Blog

DitzieDigiDesign

3 thoughts on “My favourite kind of challenge

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

