The three little kittens, they lost their mittens…

 

sanded mittens

I just love these grey board mittens from That Craft Place.  They make the perfect thing for that person that you want to give more than a card, but not quite a pressie. It’s handmade Christmas ornament.  I’ve got two more projects in the pipeline with them to show you next week so the other two kittens will have found their mittens too!  lol

So, I embossed the greyboard with a knit texture plate from Cherry Lyn using my brand new x-cut machine (which is totally awesome btw!).  Then I painted them with white paint, buttermilk paint, sanded back the high points, thought that it was to dark for what I wanted so with a very wet brush I painted it a thin coat of white again.  The cuffs come as separate pieces so I painted them white, added flower soft to give it texture, and a bit of glamour dust from DecoArts.  I painted the ribbon with a hot pink and used the weathered wood product also from DecoArts before using the same pink mixed with white to get a paler pink.  I wanted the ribbon to look shabby/wrinkled like bias ribbon.  Not sure if that worked or not, but I like how it turned out.  I painted the back and edges with white so that I can right some soppy message on the back for the recipient (likely one of the girls at work).  I got some white on the front of the ribbon and in my attempt to loosen up and not be quite so ‘too even’ as Lisa (aka Boss Lady at TCP) says, left it on.  Again, not so sure about that! lol

I didn’t have any pinky Christmas paper and so went on Etsy looking for digi papers.  OMG, was that ever a mistake!  Needless to say, I found some that would work and a few spares! lol I die cut LaLaLand Christmas tree, a Cheery Lyn flourish, and a Memory Box snowflake corner (all available from TCP) and glittered them up too.

sanded mittens 2

There you go! My first Christmas card of 2014.

That Craft Place

That Craft Place Facebook Group

That Craft Place Challenge Blog

5 thoughts on “The three little kittens, they lost their mittens…

  1. What a stunning card you have made. It fits our challenge this month well of “Anything goes”. Thanks for taking part and good luck. Best wishes, Kym (Bearly Mine Challenge Blog Design Team Leader)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

