The Aviator’s Adventure

 

That Craft Place is now selling the most amazing exclusive alterable items.  Lisa is designing all kinds of unique grey board and mdf items.  There are keys, books, mittens, reindeer, dogs, flowers, clouds, beach items, etc, etc, etc.  She’ll also do custom orders all for a very reasonable price. IMG_0089

This padlock book cover was just too perfect for this fortnight’s challenge of Autumn/Steampunk over at TCP challenge blog.  As soon as I saw that keyhole, I knew exactly what I wanted to do.  First I painted with teal and brown paint…trying really hard to not be too even.  Do you know how hard that is for a mathematician?  I don’t do random! lol  I used PaperArtsy stamps  and distress ink (vintage photo and walnut ink) in a somewhat random fashion.  The do not look inside sentiment is also PaperArtsy.  I do love PaperArtsy…think I could buy them all! I tried to age the keyhole with some distress ink.  I rubbed a bit of gold paint into the cracks that formed from the one step crackle that I applied here and there.  I did rub a bit of gold in other spots to lighten it all up as it all a bit darker than I wanted.  I edged the outside in black archival ink too.  The adventure bulb was securely attached with one of my new fav glues…DecoArt’s Decopage.  Love that stuff!

IMG_0095

I used Kaiserkraft paper inside.  The image is the fabulous The Aviator from DitzieDigiDesigns coloured with my trusty copics and aged with distress inks.  I painted the handle with two tones of brown and used one of the same stamps from the front to tie it together. IMG_0096I had a bit of an oops with the gold paint… there was some dried on my nonstick sheet and it seemed to adhere itself while the satin varnish was drying on the back.  Again, in my attempt to embrace the random, I left it.  I’d really like to paint over it though! lol  I got decopage on somewhere it wasn’t supposed to be (I’m glue impaired) so just used it to seal the whole thing.  It left a lovely matt, silky smooth finish.  Rather a happy accident!IMG_0097

Please enter our Autumn/Steampunk challenge!  Can’t wait to see your creations.  Thanks for stopping by!

Links you need:

That Craft Place

That Craft Place Facebook Group

That Craft Place Challenge Blog

I’d like to enter the following challenges –

http://alteredeclectics.blogspot.co.uk/

http://anythingbutacard.blogspot.co.uk/

Digi Galore – http://notrealstamps.blogspot.co.uk/

DPDC49http://doodlepantryblog.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/DPDC

13 thoughts on “The Aviator’s Adventure

  1. Hi Erin u are some aweeeesome crafter u are soooo talented love your work – great jobs and thanks for hoping over to my blog in my absence warmest hugs Judith xxx

  2. WOW….and amazing project. She should do quite well with the sell. There is so much gorgeous detail and craftsmanship. Thank you for sharing and joining our Doodle Pantry #49 August Challenge.

  3. I absolutely love this, could you link to the Crafts Galore Encore Challenge, “Anything Goes”, in order to be eligible for a prize? Thanks, Denyse

  4. What can I say? so funky and retro and just lurve it!! Thank you so much for entering into the Sisters of Craft challenge and good luck. Tina DT x

  5. What a fab entry in to our challenge…unfortunately you have not linked us to your entry, you will need to do that to be eligible for the challenge.
    Thanks
    Sandie,Owner at Rhedd’s Creative Spirit.

  6. Love this entry to Anything goes on Crafts Galore Encore Challenge. You do need to link our challenge site in order to be eligible to enter your great creation for the prize. Caroline x

  7. Fabulous work. TFS over at Altered Eclectics this month – hope to see you again in future challenges. Hugz Ellapu x

  8. Hi Erin, this is such a cool make. Love the image and your colouring is great. Thank you for sharing with us at Copic Marker Spain. Hugs, Aurora

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

