Broken Dreams

This fortnight’s challenge over at That Craft Place is Shabby Chic.  Normally, this isn’t my thing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love it (and have a huge Pinterest board to prove it! lol), but I’ve become a grungy girl in 2014.  I really didn’t know what I was going to do when I sat down (in fact I was supposed to be working on the last challenge!) it all came together.

Broken Dreams

Broken Dreams

I happened to come across this seconds at TCP…my first thought was ‘Broken Dreams’ since the dream part didn’t cut quite properly.  I used DecoArt’s Weathered Wood product with pale pink and white on a Tando mixed media board.  I painted the key in pink and then a lot of frantage embossing powder (I totally stole this idea from Michelle Shirley, one of the cool kids over at TCP DT).  For the first time, I got brave and used the air dry clay and a Katy Sue mold to make the frame which I highlighted with pink paint and lots of guilding waxes.  When I started to play with the placement of cheesecloth, flowers, ribbon (that I bought on my very first trip to TCP almost a year ago), I realised I need another element and did the crown in similar fashion.  When I bought the crowns, I loved them, but didn’t have a clue how I was going to use them.  Do you ever do that? lol

The Past is Prologue

Links you need:

That Craft Place

That Craft Place Facebook Group

That Craft Place Challenge Blog

I’d like to enter the following challenges:

http://4kraftygirlzchallenges.blogspot.co.uk/#

http://brownsugarchallenge.blogspot.co.uk/#

http://avenue613.blogspot.co.uk/

http://glitternsparklechallengeblog.blogspot.co.uk/

5 thoughts on “Broken Dreams

  1. Super stunning gorgeous make Erin hun love it you are sooo talented and thank you for leaving soooo many comments on my blog – really do appreciate it hugs Judith x

  2. WOW! This is a piece of art! Nice job of shifting your style, Erin! Great push of your comfort zone. Thanks for playing along with the Southern Girls Shabby Chic/Girly challenge. Hugs, Cathy xx

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

