Oops! You may light up my life, but I’m still forgetful…

Oops!  I forgot to blog my project for this months Challenge over at Altered Eclectics.

Toad & Magic

This was inspired by the famous Andy Skinner.  I started by gathering up embellishments and pieces of mdf (many that came in my latest DT pack from That Craft Place…actually, the only thing that didn’t come from TCP is the Tando clock which I won in challenge and the markers I used for the writing).  I arranged and rearranged pieces until I was happy with the layout.  I then glued the hinge and flourish to the mdf heart and added the stucco texture paste here there and everywhere.

On the mdf rectangle (lacking any straight edges! lol) I attached a piece of ugly green embossed card.  I painted it with Prussian Blue fluid acrylics from the media line of DecoArts.  I also painted the key and heart with Prussian blue.

The clock was covered with stucco texture paste and shades of grey paint before painting it with Quinacridone Gold (my new favourite paint!).

I put Patina Green antiquing cream (you totally need this in your life if you like to make your altered projects look aged!) on the heart and the rectangle and wiped back.  I coated it with faux finishing medium to protect the antiquing cream as it never cures until you varnish it.  Then I used Umber and Red Oxide antiquing creams, wiping back and protecting with faux finishing medium.  On the rectangle, I also used White antiquing cream.

I can’t remember what all I did on the key as I just kept experimenting until I was happy with how it looked.

Toad & Magic

I finally glued everything down, added the light, wrote the sentiment with a white sharpie pen after the gold one didn’t really show, and added the cute angle embellishment (which I aged with Umber and Green Patina antiquing creams).

I’ve put this up in the bathroom (where it matches the colour we’re forced to live with since we rent) and I can admire it everyday.  The workshop with Andy Skinner was totes amazeballs and highly recommend it anyone!

Toad & Magic

All products used are available from the fantastic shop…That Craft Place.

I’d like to enter the following challenges:

http://artbymiranchallenge.blogspot.ca/

http://simplycreatetoo.blogspot.co.uk/

http://stampsandstencils.blogspot.co.uk/

http://carabbiemomentsofcraft.blogspot.co.uk/

http://everybody-art-challenge.blogspot.co.uk/

20 thoughts on “Oops! You may light up my life, but I’m still forgetful…

  1. You forgetful? Never! 😛 This is stunning, loving the aged look and the colours! ❤

    Question for you, PM me on FB if needs be although I'll check back her for an answer…. Quinacridone paint… what IS it? lol! What is it that you love? Thank you! 😀

    xxSAMxx

  2. You realisise that I’ll be singing that song all day now don’t you?? I’ll forgive you though because a) I like the song anyway and b) this is another Erinabulous piece of artwork. I can see the Andy Skinner influence after that great workshop we did with him, and I can see the Erin Influence in the way the whole project hangs together. It’s great you clever old thing!!

  3. Hi Erin, now i have read your blog post I still want this as it too good for the bathroom as not everyone see’s it unless they go spend a penny!! lol
    I really love everything about it.
    Hugs Amanda

  4. Gorgeous project Erin! Love the aged look you’ve achieved and the texture on the clock is fabulous! Thanks for joining us at Stamps and Stencils. Sue C x

  5. A fantastic project, super details and distressing. Thank you for joining us at Stamps and Stencils.
    Yvonne

  6. What a fabulous creation hunnie. Love the color. texture and the overall effect. Love it xx

  7. From one Skinner fan to another, I just love what you’ve done here! You have clearly loved making this and I love the grungy, time worn look you’ve achieved. Thanks so much for joining us at Stamps and Stencils. Julia x

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

