London Calling

Toad & MagicI bought this flower pot about a year ago in a charity shop with the idea of altering it somehow someday.  Well, someday turned out to be today.  Recently, I saw Shelley Hickox’s tutorial on making things looked like galvanised metal.  I didn’t follow it exactly and used what I had on hand, but I do love how it turned out.  This picture shows the inside of the pot and what it looked like before.  I forgot to take a proper before picture.

Toad & Magic

I covered the pot with black chalk paint since it adheres to everything so well, then used a mix of Payne’s Grey and white, a bit of carbon fluid media, a touch of burnt sienna, finally a bit of Cosmic Shimmer Shimmer paint in silver….all from TCP.  Oh, and I stencilled with black chalk paint using Lisa’s awesome England stencil.

This is a totally easy technique and I love the result. It really does look like metal!

7 thoughts on “London Calling

  1. This is stunning and loving the colour which does indeed give it a look of metal.
    Hugs
    Linda xxx

  2. Your pot looks fabulous Erin. The metallic effect is brilliant and I love the London stencil xx

  3. This looks fab! and the London stencil is perfect. This technique was just so much fun to do! Easy and so effective! Glad you showed me the tutorial Erin!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

